For laboratory research use only - not for human consumption

Hub · Are peptides legal in Australia? Research peptide schedule status

What did the March 2026 PBAC decide on tirzepatide?

The March 2026 Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC) outcomes record a recommendation to list tirzepatide for adults with inadequately controlled type 2 diabetes mellitus. The entry follows a July 2025 deferral and names Eli Lilly Australia as the sponsor. These are facts from the March 2026 decision, read on 15 October 2026; the entry does not state an effective PBS listing date.

Published 2026-10-15Updated 2026-10-15Written by Form Laboratories research team2 min read
01What outcome does the March…Contents

A committee outcome has its own date and scope. Pages 47-48 of the March 2026 PBAC outcomes record the tirzepatide decision and identify the sponsor as Eli Lilly Australia (read 15 October 2026).

Key facts

Key facts for What did the March 2026 PBAC decide on tirzepatide?
Decision recordPBAC meeting outcomes, March 2026, pages 47-48
Recorded outcomeRecommended
Named substanceTirzepatide (March 2026 PBAC outcomes)
Scope of recommendationAdults with inadequately controlled type 2 diabetes mellitus (March 2026 PBAC outcomes)
Publication page updated13 May 2026 (PBS publication page)
Source read15 October 2026
PBS, March 2026 PBAC outcomes, pages 47-48; read 15 October 2026

What outcome does the March 2026 record give?

The March 2026 PBAC outcomes mark tirzepatide as Recommended for adults with inadequately controlled type 2 diabetes mellitus. The entry identifies a resubmission following the July 2025 deferral and names Eli Lilly Australia as sponsor. Pages 47-48 contain the decision and its continuation, checked on 15 October 2026.

This decision summary belongs to Peptides and Australian Law. The Schedule 4 explainer covers the separate scheduling record. The November 2025 semaglutide decision has its own meeting date and scope.

PBS, March 2026 outcomes and publication page; read 15 October 2026Obesity, January 2023 programme design paper

Does this decision state an effective PBS listing date?

The tirzepatide row in the March 2026 PBAC outcomes does not state an effective PBS listing date. The publication page identifies the meeting as March 2026 and gives 13 May 2026 as its update date. This page records that decision, checked on 15 October 2026, rather than asserting a later listing outcome.

A separate SURMOUNT programme design paper appeared in Obesity in January 2023; it describes the tirzepatide trial programme, not this March 2026 committee decision (le Roux et al., 2023). The TRIUMPH-OUTCOMES status record concerns a different trial registry entry.

FAQ

Was the March 2026 tirzepatide decision a recommendation?

Yes. The March 2026 PBAC outcomes, pages 47-48, mark tirzepatide as Recommended for the specified type 2 diabetes population (read 15 October 2026).

Does the decision give a PBS commencement date?

The tirzepatide entry in the March 2026 PBAC outcomes states no effective PBS listing date (pages 47-48, read 15 October 2026).

Citations

1 sources
  1. le Roux CW, Zhang S, Aronne LJ, et al. Obesity. 2023;31:96-110. SURMOUNT clinical development programme: rationale and design.
    doi:10.1002/oby.23612

Written by

Form Laboratories research team

Perth, Western Australia. We supply research-use-only reference material. Available reports cover historical samples; current batch certification is unverified.

Written in-house
These articles are written and maintained by our own research team, not by a named clinician.
Built from the record
Every figure comes from published literature, listed in full above with a link to the original paper.
No use directions
We describe what the research measured. We never give dosing, preparation, or advice.

Form Laboratories supplies research-use-only reference material. This article is an educational summary of published third-party literature. It is not medical advice, not a use instruction, and research material is not for human or animal use.

2026 Form Laboratories - Research use only - Perth WAPerth WA 6000 - current batch certification unverified, dispatched Australia-wide via Australia Post or CouriersPlease