For laboratory research use only - not for human consumption

Hub · Bacteriostatic Water

Is bacteriostatic water just sterile water? Label specifications and tests compared

Bacteriostatic water is not just sterile water: it is sterile water with 0.9% or 1.1% benzyl alcohol added, and that preservative changes the container, the warnings and the tests behind the label (US drug labels, DailyMed, read 14 October 2026). The TGA expects a preservative to be shown to work by an efficacy test, and that a chemical assay of its amount is not a substitute (TGA, updated 19 November 2024).

Published 2026-10-14Updated 2026-10-14Written by Form Laboratories research team5 min read

A cook tastes the soup before it leaves the kitchen, but a taste tells you about that spoonful, not about the whole pot. Quality testing of pharmacy water works in a similar way. Each test answers one narrow question about a sample, and each label line records one specification.

This page is part of the bacteriostatic water hub. It sets the specification lines of three US drug labels side by side, explains how a preservative is tested, and states what no label can show. The page reports records and gives no directions, and research material is not for human or animal use.

Key facts

Key facts for Is bacteriostatic water just sterile water? Label specifications and tests compared
Bacteriostatic water specificationWater plus benzyl alcohol at 0.9% or 1.1%; pH 5.7 (4.5 to 7.0); multiple-dose container (US label)
Sterile water specificationNo bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer; single-dose container (US label)
0.9% sodium chloride specificationOsmolarity 308 mOsmol/L; pH 5.6 for containers of 250 mL and larger (range 4.5 to 7.0) (US label)
Preservative test named by the TGABP Appendix XVI C or EP Chapter 5.1.3, 'Efficacy of antimicrobial preservation'
Chemical assay of the preservativeThe TGA does not accept it as a substitute for the efficacy test and records it as an option for routine batch testing
Labels readOne bacteriostatic water, one sterile water and one sodium chloride label, plus five further bacteriostatic water labels
Facts checked14 October 2026
DailyMed sterile water labelDailyMed bacteriostatic water label, listing dated 8 July 2026

Is bacteriostatic water just sterile water?

No. Sterile water is water alone, while bacteriostatic water is sterile water plus benzyl alcohol, and the extra ingredient changes the container, the warnings and the label's neonate statement. The sterile water label reviewed says the product contains no bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer and is supplied in single-dose containers. The bacteriostatic water label reviewed lists benzyl alcohol at 0.9% or 1.1%, describes multiple-dose containers and bars use in neonates (DailyMed, read 14 October 2026). The side-by-side comparison adds saline and irrigation water.

DailyMed bacteriostatic water label, listing dated 8 July 2026

What does a bacteriostatic water label specify?

A bacteriostatic water label specifies composition, pH, container type, a labelled category and warnings. The label reviewed states water with 0.9% or 1.1% benzyl alcohol, a pH of 5.7 within a range of 4.5 to 7.0, multiple-dose vials, a drug-diluent category, a neonate contraindication and a hemolysis warning (DailyMed, read 14 October 2026). It describes the water as sterile and nonpyrogenic, meaning free of living microorganisms and of fever-causing contaminants as supplied.

The table below lays the same lines out for three US products. Where a label states nothing on a line, the cell says so, because a missing line is part of the record. Storage and expiry sets out what labels and rules record about dates.

TGA, Meeting microbiological standards for medicines, updated 19 November 2024

How is the preservative in bacteriostatic water tested?

A preservative is tested by an efficacy test, which challenges the product with microorganisms and checks whether they grow. The TGA expects aqueous multidose medicines to meet the British Pharmacopoeia test of 'Efficacy of antimicrobial preservation' or the matching European Pharmacopoeia chapter, and names Chapter 51 of the USP-NF, 'Antimicrobial effectiveness testing', for liquid oral antacid medicines (TGA guidance, updated 19 November 2024). A chemical assay of the preservative is not accepted as a substitute for that test, although the TGA says an assay can be used for routine batch testing.

The TGA adds that chemical concentration alone is not enough to judge a preservative's biological activity, because other chemical and physical changes in the formulation can alter how well it works (TGA, updated 19 November 2024). The benzyl alcohol percentage printed on a label is therefore a content figure, and not a result of the efficacy test.

DailyMed bacteriostatic water label, listing dated 8 July 2026FDA high purity water guide

What do 'sterile' and 'nonpyrogenic' mean on a label?

Sterile means free of living microorganisms, and nonpyrogenic means free of pyrogens, fever-causing contaminants. The bacteriostatic water label reviewed uses both words, and FDA's water guide expects WFI for parenteral products where pyrogens are a concern (DailyMed, read 14 October 2026; FDA guide, content current as of 22 September 2016). Sterility and endotoxin, a common pyrogen, are measured by different tests, as the endotoxin, sterility and purity page explains. A label can carry both words without listing a test result, because the words describe the product as made.

DailyMed sterile water labelDailyMed sodium chloride label

Do labels treat sterile water as interchangeable with saline?

No label read treats the two as interchangeable. The sterile water label reviewed warns that hemolysis may result when the water is given into a vein without a solute, and it carries a drug-diluent category, while the 0.9% sodium chloride labels reviewed (second record) describe a parenteral fluid and electrolyte replenisher (DailyMed, read 14 October 2026). This page reports the labels and gives no advice on swapping one product for another.

CDC, 26 March 2024American Journal of Infection Control 2004 and 2009

Evidence limits

What can a label not show about one vial?

A label states a specification. It does not show that one vial meets it, that a vial already opened and entered is still sterile, or that research material matches any of these products. CDC says the preservative in a multi-dose vial gives no complete protection against bacterial contamination (CDC, 26 March 2024). Test reports describe samples, a point how to read a certificate of analysis develops.

Two hospital surveys show what sampling can find, and neither tested bacteriostatic water. In a one-day prevalence study in a 1300-bed hospital in November 2001, 1 vial and 1 spike among 227 opened multiple-dose vials of mixed medicines were contaminated with Staphylococcus epidermidis, and the study reports contamination of mixed hospital medicines, not of bacteriostatic water (Mattner and Gastmeier, American Journal of Infection Control, 2004). In a four-month survey at one Iranian teaching hospital, 36 of 637 used multidose vials of mixed medicines held bacteria, mostly commensal organisms (those that normally live on people), and the authors wrote that the clinical significance was not resolved, so the survey does not show infection rates or the state of bacteriostatic water (Motamedifar and Askarian, American Journal of Infection Control, 2009).

Comparison

Three US labels on DailyMed, read 14 October 2026: bacteriostatic water, sterile water (single-dose vials) and 0.9% sodium chloride. Cells paraphrase label text. 'Not stated in the label reviewed' means the label text read has no such line.

Comparison: Is bacteriostatic water just sterile water? Label specifications and tests compared
Bacteriostatic waterSterile water0.9% sodium chloride
CompositionWater plus benzyl alcohol at 0.9% or 1.1%Water; no bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer0.9% sodium chloride in water for parenteral use (WFI); no bacteriostat, antimicrobial agent or added buffer
pH5.7 (4.5 to 7.0)Not stated in the label reviewed5.6 for containers of 250 mL and larger; range 4.5 to 7.0
OsmolarityNot stated in the label reviewedNot stated in the label reviewed308 mOsmol/L (calc.)
ContainerMultiple-dose vialsSingle-dose vialsSingle-dose flexible plastic container
Labelled categoryDrug diluentDrug diluentFluid and electrolyte replenisher
NeonatesContraindicated; vial marked 'NOT FOR USE IN NEONATES'The label notes that the volume of fluid may affect fluid and electrolyte balance in neonates or very small infantsNo neonate statement; the label says pediatric use is based on clinical practice

FAQ

What does bacteriostatic mean?

Bacteriostatic describes a preservative that limits bacterial growth. CDC says the antimicrobial preservative in a multi-dose vial helps limit bacterial growth but gives no complete protection against contamination (CDC, 26 March 2024).

Can a chemical assay be used for batch testing of a preserved medicine?

Yes. The TGA says a chemical assay of the preservative can be used for routine batch testing, but it is not accepted as a substitute for the antimicrobial preservative efficacy test (TGA, updated 19 November 2024).

Does a bacteriostatic water label add its own test result?

No test result appears on the six bacteriostatic water labels read. They state specifications such as pH and benzyl alcohol content, and no batch result appears on any of them. The vial label on the manufacturer's record prints lot and expiry fields (DailyMed, read 14 October 2026).

Citations

2 sources
  1. Mattner F, Gastmeier P. American Journal of Infection Control. 2004;32(1):12-16 — bacterial contamination of multiple-dose vials.
    doi:10.1016/j.ajic.2003.06.004

  2. Motamedifar M, Askarian M. American Journal of Infection Control. 2009;37(9):773-777 — multidose vial contamination in a teaching hospital, Shiraz.
    doi:10.1016/j.ajic.2008.12.009

Written by

Form Laboratories research team

Perth, Western Australia. We supply research-use-only reference material. Available reports cover historical samples; current batch certification is unverified.

Written in-house
These articles are written and maintained by our own research team, not by a named clinician.
Built from the record
Every figure comes from published literature, listed in full above with a link to the original paper.
No use directions
We describe what the research measured. We never give dosing, preparation, or advice.

Form Laboratories supplies research-use-only reference material. This article is an educational summary of published third-party literature. It is not medical advice, not a use instruction, and research material is not for human or animal use.

2026 Form Laboratories - Research use only - Perth WAPerth WA 6000 - current batch certification unverified, dispatched Australia-wide via Australia Post or CouriersPlease